Yelp – Photography by Roy


Below are some reviews left by clients on Yelp. (Some of these were ‘filtered’ by the automated Yelp system, which you can see by visiting the reviews page and clicking on the gray link at the end of the existing Yelp reviews)

Theresa B..
Newborn Photography
Westchester, NY
2/09/2016
Yelp Review
My husband and I could not be happier or more impressed with our son’s newborn photo shoot with Roy.  From our initial scheduling conversations through the entire shoot, Roy was extremely patient and professional.  He willingly traveled to our home in Westchester and arrived right on time.  Roy stayed at our home almost 5 hours and patiently waited…and waited for our 1 week old to cooperate or fall asleep.  He did not rush us or seem annoyed by the amount of time and effort required (he was gentle with our son and an expert in calming him down).  Roy scoped out our nursery and home to ensure he incorporated objects and backgrounds from our home to add a personal touch.  He was super creative in finding various poses and backgrounds, particularly with a baby who was not in the mood to cooperate!  He didn’t mind the multiple wardrobe changes required due to some “accidents” and readily offered feedback and suggestions in addition to taking our own feedback and preferences into account.

In addition to being great company, Roy is an extremely talented photographer!  All of the proofs turned out amazing – our friends and family continue to share them with their own colleagues and friends because they are just so beautiful!  The proofs were ready and the usb drive in the mail in record time and Roy has been beyond accommodating in providing insight into the prints as well.

All in all, you cannot go wrong choosing Roy for newborn photos and I would imagine any other photography needs.  We can’t wait to work together again!


Engagement Photos
Australia
1/23/2016
Yelp Review
If you want amazing photos then Roy is the person you need!

We wanted to organize a special photo shoot while on our holiday from Australia and I was honestly expecting it to be a difficult task. Roy’s communication from the very start all the way through to the actual photo shoot made it so easy.

Roy’s artistic eye makes for incredible photos and I am very happy that we made the decision to let him do as he wanted. The shoot was very professional and relaxed and his patience to get the best shot possible is what makes these photos stand out. We have shown them to friends and family and all are impressed at how good they are.

Great experience and extremely comfortable. If only we could get Roy to Australia to shoot our wedding!

Don’t waste your time looking for anyone better as there isn’t! Thanks again Roy.


April O.
Newborn Photography
Long Island City, NY
12/29/2015
Yelp Review
My girlfriend had recommended Roy for us to use for our Newborn photoshoot and I am so glad that we did. I cannot stress enough how INCREDIBLE he is. Extremely professional and prompt, he was very communicative in his emails and helped create the exact vision I wanted for our newborn pictures. I had several ideas and Roy patiently did them all with us (and the way he interacted with our baby was just unbelievable… he has the ultimate touch and she was quiet and calm the entire time).
The results were the most outstanding newborn pictures that I have seen. He is extremely creative and his use of lighting and the natural environment is great. It felt like working with a long time friend. I highly recommend Roy, he is hands down, the best.

Ben R.
Newborn Photography
Manhattan
11/30/2015
Yelp Review
We have hired Roy on three separate occasions over the past three years. Once for maternity photos, and twice for newborn photos. He is our first choice to capture these fleeting, important moments. When our second child came a few days late, he worked to reschedule other shoots in order to fit us in on our preferred date.

Roy has an amazing ability to calm and position newborn babies in exactly the right spot. His creative eye and suitcase full of props ensure a variety of settings and poses. He is meticulous, stopping to move the angle of a feather, or position a wayward finger. His attention to detail shows in the finished photos, which can take your breath away. We use the photos in announcement cards, hang them on our wall, and share them in digital media. I find his packages and products to be of excellent value, and worth every penny. I cannot recommend him enough. You will be pleased with his work.


Shelly L.
Newborn Photography
Pelham. Westchester, NY10/1/2015
Yelp Review
We have used Roy for all three of our children and I highly recommend him! He has photographed my entire family, from one newborn to siblings, grandparents and dogs! His beautiful photos, prompt responses, and quick order turnaround are top notch, but how he runs his photo sessions is especially impressive. He clearly has experience with all age kids and is prepared for anything.
He has SO much patience with newborns (older kids too) and works hard to get the perfect shot. We have enjoyed working with Roy and will definitely use him again!

Alex D.
Pet Photography
Port Washington, NY
9/29/2015
Yelp Review
I was looking for a pet photographer and came across Roy’s website, which was far and away more impressive than any of the others I viewed. As a result, I hired him to photograph my dog and he did a fantastic job. My dog was not at all cooperative, but Roy was patient and willing to try lots of things to get a good pic, including putting little bits of chicken on his camera lens! In the end, he got some great shots and I’m thrilled to have them on display in my home. Thank you Roy!

Angelo C.
Newborn Photography
Queens, NY
6/30/2015
Yelp Review
We have used Roy’s services for both of our children’s newborn photos. He is very professional, is amazing with babies, and takes amazing photos. You will be greatly pleased with his work.

Whitney C.
Maternity, Newborn & Family Portraits
Westchester, NY
11/1/2015
Google+ Review
Roy is hands down the best photographer to work with. He is patient and kind. He doesn’t stop until everything is 110% perfect! I have worked with him for 4 years from maternity shoots to newborns to 6 month photos to family and pets1! He is one of a kind!

Ellen C.
Newborn Photography
Queens, NY
10/15/2015
Yelp Review
Roy was extremely professional . The pictures came out great! It was definitely worth it. He was patient and just really knows how to handle babies. He’s able to capture baby’s cutest moments.

Andria C.
Newborn Photography
Manhattan, NY
1/11/2016
Online Review
Roy did an amazing job with our newborn photos, and we absolutely love how the pictures came out. Roy is very talented at putting both our newborn and toddler at ease while capturing stunning photos at the same time. I would highly recommend Roy to others.
Andy E.
Business Headshots
Manhattan
04/20//2015
Google+ Review
I just got my headshots back from a one on one session with Roy and I couldn’t be happier. They are incredible quality and he was a blast to work with again. I have already recommended him to several friends and will definitely be calling him again.

James, D.
Professional Business Headshots
Long Island, NY
4/28/2015
Yelp Review
Roy did a super job for our Company ( RMP Capital Corp.)…he came to our offices to do Head Shots of all our Headquarters personnel…they came out great and everyone is very happy with their portraits…I would recommend Roy to anyone that requires great photography

Kristi P.
Engagement Photography
Manhattan, NYC
9/29/2015
Facebook Review
We love Roy! Unique engagement photos are the “in” thing these days so when our family vacationed in NYC during Spring Break I booked an engagement session for my son and his fiance with Roy after I researched “photographers in NYC” on the web. His website has a wonderful selection of his work AND it’s easy to navigate! The entire experience was top notch. The kids couldn’t quit talking about how much fun they had and even said the photo session for the highlight of their NYC trip. Needless to say, the pictures were everything the kids wanted and more! Hats off to Roy. We will use him again if we get the chance. Kristi – TEXAS

Alana B.
Newborn Photography
Soho, NYC
9/29/2015
Yelp Review
Roy is the baby whisperer photographer.  He is able to calm your baby and take the most amazing photos.  When our friends saw them they said “how is that even possible”.

We have now used Roy for two newborn shoots, our first baby and second.  We plan on using him for our third as well.  I highly recommend him.

If your looking for a calm, productive newborn shoot choose Roy.  He will work with you to accomplish the photos you are looking for and he is open to all your creative ideas.

A.B. Soho NYC


Florence T.
Newborn Photography
Queens, NY
08/11/2015
Yelp Review
I chose Roy before my baby was born based on these glowing Yelp reviews, and Yelp did not lead me astray! Roy was very responsive to each of my communications, and really tuned into what I asked for (whimsical shots besides family photos). He was so patient with our baby, shhing and gently tapping her into adorable poses…sometimes for minutes before the pose was photo ready! He stayed well beyond our “alloted time” because our baby was “so cooperative” and gave us an amazing portfolio of photos capturing this special time that we will treasure always. An all-around nice guy to work with and talk to.

Preethi L.
Engagement/ child photography
Dubai, UAE
9/28/2015
Absolutely love Roy’s work! Which is the reason why I came back to looking for him to shoot pictures of my child five years after he did my engagement shoot. And everytime I return to New York with my family I would love for Roy to shoot the milestones and changes in my life and family as he perfectly does.
His photography is fantastic, especially the way he juxtaposes beautiful portrait shots with New York in the background. He is especially good with working with children and he made my daughter feel very comfortable while he took amazing pictures of her.Keep up the good work Roy.. Look forward to working with you some more!

Joyce, C
Newborn Photography
Manhattan/Downtown NYC9/28/2015
“Amazing”
I can’t say enough wonderful things about Roy. The photos he took of my son are amazing. He was unbelievably patient with my five day old boy. I appreciated that he does not charge by the hour. He did not rush. He came early and stayed late, until he was sure he got the best shots. He brought so many beautiful backdrops and props that transformed each poise into a creative picture of perfection.

Evelina R.
Newborn & Children Photography
Astoria, Queens
10/21/2015
“Thank you!!!”
Roy is amazing!!! We used Roy for two newborn sessions. The first time
was in November of 2013 for our son and Roy was truly exceptional.
When we got pregnant with our daughter, I contacted Roy right away to
set up a newborn session.
Roy is an exceptional photographer and is
great with newborns. He takes his time ensuring he gets the perfect
shoot and handles the baby with extraordinary care. Our daughter’s
session was a bit more challenging since we had a toddler who we also
wanted in the photos but Roy was great at making sure we had amazing
pictures with the big brother. Also, Roy is very quick to provide you
the photos after the session.
We cannot wait to have Roy shoot a newborn session for our next baby!!! Thank you Roy!!!

Elizabeth, K
Newborn Photography
Glendale, Queens
12/1/2015
Roy was absolutely amazing! Our son slept the entire photo shoot and
we had so many great photos we had a hard time choosing for the birth
announcements. I would recommend him without a shadow of a doubt. We
will definitely use him again for our future photo shoots.

Robyn F.
Newborn Photography
Rockaway Beach, Queens
11/23/2015
We are thrilled with the photos!  You really knocked it out of the ballpark!  I’ve already shared them with my family and they are loving your work.  Thank you so much for your sharing your amazing talent with us!

 


Michelle C.
Newborn PhotographySeaford.
Long Island, NY
11/21/2015
I have never left a review before but Roy was worth reviewing. We used
him for newborn pictures based on the reviews we read and he was
exactly as the reviews had depicted him. The way he handled my son was
absolutely amazing… I could use him at 3 am! He was just as good
working with my two year son who acted like a typical 2yo that day
(into everything with a few tantrums). He did Not fixate on time or
length of the shoot but instead Roy really took his time to get and
create all the images he wanted. The photographs came out amazing and
will be treasured for a lifetime. We highly recommend Roy. You will
not be disappointed.

Brian W.
Newborn Portraits
Manhattan
11/16/2015
My wife and I would recommend Roy to anyone. Not only were our pictures fantastic, but so was the whole experience.
Roy has unbelievable patience and we never fealt rushed or that we were wasting his time – and he was so good with our son… he was the ‘baby whisperer’.
We highly recommend Roy to anyone looking for great new born pictures.

Laura W.
Newborn Portraits
Long Island, NY
11/13/2015
“Amazing experience!!!”
We just used Roy for our newborn photoshoot and we could not be happier with the experience. I found Roy during a internet search for Long Island photographers and fell in love with his portflio. I love his style and how he incorporated elements of your home and the babies nursery into the photos instead of just a boring studio backdrop. But what sold me was his photos with the family dogs. Our dog was our first “baby” so we wanted to make sure he could be in our family photos and Roy made that possible.
He has the magic touch with not only the baby but also our dog. He captured amazing photos and made new parents relaxed with the same experience, considering you have a stranger handing your 10 day old baby. I would highly recommend Roy and would use him again in the future!!

Sapna P.
Newborn, Children, Family Portraits
New York, NY
10/25/2015
“Always wonderful!”
Roy has been taking our photos since our 4 year old came home from the hospital! He is always wonderful and so patient. My husband calls him the baby whisperer.

E.B.M
Newborn,Children, Family Portraits
Manhattan10/27/2015
“Roy is THE BEST”
Roy is THE BEST—a professional, kind, and talented photographer who
is an absolute pleasure to work with. We first hired Roy in January
2012 for a newborn portrait session. We had never done anything like a
“photo shoot” before, and had no idea what to expect. Roy
immediately put us (and our baby) at ease. He’s got a great artistic
eye and we had so much fun posing our little one in the most
imaginative ways. The results were incredible. We simply couldn’t
believe he had taken such beautiful pictures. Looking back, we were so
focused on adjusting to new parenthood that there is no way we would
have been able to get such great shots ourselves. Roy captured every
little detail.The following year, when our second daughter was born, it was a
no-brainer to invite him back. We’ve now made it a fall tradition to
do a yearly outdoor shoot with Roy, and it’s been such a treat to
watch the girls grow through his lovely photos. Flexible and
adaptable, Roy is able to visualize the most remarkable backdrops on
the fly, creating photos that are often works of art in their own
right.Children light up differently when someone else is behind the lens,
especially someone like Roy who is so gentle, patient, and easygoing,
and knows how to bring out the best in his subjects. Roy has perfectly
captured our children’s personalities over and over again—we are
so grateful. We truly treasure his photos and cannot recommend his
services highly enough.

Katie T
Children Portraits.
Long Island
11/2/2015
Recently had a photo session with Roy to get some pictures of our son and dog. Roy was very accommodating to our schedule and location and encouraged our participation. My husband and I generally hate having pictures taken (as is evident from our wedding photos) but the session was a pleasure! It took nearly the whole time for our son to warm up and start smiling, but from the pictures Roy took, you could hardly tell that he was being so shy. The photos came out beautifully! Overall, the “action” shots are the strongest. If you’re a fan of a journalistic style, you should definitely consider Roy. We highly recommend his services, and would use him in the future.

Omar
Senior Portraits
Fresno, CA
11/4/2015
I recently had my photo session last month, it was a once and a lifetime experience! I was in New York for a competition and thought it would be a great idea to take my senior pictures there, while researching I was instantly attracted to Roy’s website and I’m satisfied I found him! He’s literally the best, he makes you feel comfortable and he’s really professional. I’m satisfied with how the pictures came out!

Carolyn F.
Newborn to 3 years
Manhattan
11/12/2015
“Superb Photos”
Roy has taken the most beautiful photos of my daughter! Every year since she was born, Roy has documented my daughter’s growth, her quirks, her joy, her curiosity and playfulness. And this is no small miracle given how little interest and patience my daughter has for having her picture taken!

Krista
Couple Photography
Downtown NYC
03/07/2015
A huge big thanks to Photography By Roy for making our Christmas day 2014 so special and memorable. We were blown away viewing our portfolio of shots – these now form the best memories and photos we own. Roy, your professionalism, attention to detail and unique talent is admirable and it’s no wonder why you are in such high demand!

It was so great to work with you; there will definitely be a next time! Thanking you from the bottom of our hearts. Krista & Paul. (Australia)


Evette M. Newborn Photography
Bronx NY
11/3/2014
Ever since I saw first his work, I knew I had to book a photography session with Roy. If you’ve seen his photographs, you know how stunningly beautiful they are, so I had high expectations, and boy, did he exceed those expectations. Roy is extremely professional, patient, and super creative. He was absolutely amazing with my newborn. He really is the baby whisperer. He knew exactly how to calm her down. My husband and I were pretty impressed by his soothing techniques (my husband took notice and now tries to implement Roy’s techniques!) Throughout the session, I nearly fainted with all the cuteness overload– the cute positions he placed her in, the awesome props he brought and used, and his creativity that made certain shots so unique and special. and OMG- The final pictures came out absolutely stunning. I can’t even select the best picture because I am in love with all of them! If you want an amazing photography experience and superb pictures to match that experience, Roy is your guy.


Chris G.
Senior Portraits
Los Angeles, CA
We asked  Roy if he would be interested in taking our daughter’s senior pictures after seeing some of his work and we couldn’t be any happier that he said yes.  When we first met up with Roy my daughter was a bit nervous which I am sure he deals with a lot but I was amazed at how fast Roy was able to get her into taking the pictures and relax.  He was very professional but at the same time very chill.  My daughter soon became very excited and engrossed in the whole event.  Roy took us all over lower Manhattan and time was never a issue.  He took a lot of pictures and he made sure to find the certain things we were looking for at the time.  When he finished taking the pictures we knew we would want to use Roy again.  Within a week or two he contacted us to let us know our pictures were up in a gallery and ready to be reviewed.  We were very pleased with the results and are now making our order.

If you are looking for a great photographer that is very easy to work with and is not going to rush you then go with Roy.  We are glad we did!


L.A NYC
Maternity & Newborn Client
10/14/2014
We met Roy towards the end of our first pregnancy back in 2012. We enjoyed working with him on both Maternity and Newborn sessions and loved his work and professionalism. Therefore we decided to work with him again during our current pregnancy.

We highly recommend him and can assure you it will be a joyful experience even for somebody who doesn’t like to be photographed.


Monica B, Oklahoma
Senior Portraits
NYC
10/23/2014
We live in a small town in Northwest Oklahoma and were planning to visit NYC for a Broadway show trip. My daughter thought since we’re going to be in NYC anyway, why not get her senior pics done there.
Roy was amazing to work with from the very first email through the very end of the session!!! Roy was professional, kind, caring and very easy to work with. He visited with my daughter and put her at ease.
The proofs are exceptional – it is going to be a very difficult decision, narrowing it down to a few. We would highly recommend Photography by Roy to anyone needing photos taken, whether it be seniors, family or wedding.
He is amazing to work with! We love New York and now we love Roy!!!!!

Jessica N.
Tribeca, NYC
Newborn Client
10/24/2014
Roy was absolutely amazing! He was beyond accommodating to our needs which was nice with a newborn! The way he is works with babies is something to be seen. I ask if I could hire him to nanny too! We are already looking forward to our next session!

Melanie S.
NYC Newborn Client
9/16/2014
Roy recently shot newborn photos of our son, Brody, and they are absolutely gorgeous! I just love every single picture. Roy was super patient and kind about everything – he was so amazing with the baby. It was just incredible. I highly recommend booking him for newborn photos!

Eva F.
Senior Portraits
8/19/2014
I had SO much fun taking my senior photos! I had never had any professional photos taken and i was nervous at first, but Roy was very nice and i soon was enjoyig myself. The shots turned out great!! If you are in NY I would definetly recommend Roy as your photographer!

Beth J.
Newborn Client, NYC
9/24/2014
We used Roy for both of our children’s newborn photos. We were SO happy the first time that we had to use him again 3 years later for our baby girl. It is amazing how many props he brings with him, especially as a new parent, when I had no idea what to prepare for the shoot. He spent so much time with us, and the grandparents as well. This time we had the difficulty of taking pictures of our baby girl with our active toddler and Roy was beyond creative and engaging so our toddler was able to get some amazing photos with his baby sister. Even the follow up and editing pictures was easy and fast. We love love Roy!!

Beth K.
Brooklyn Newborn Client
1/24/2014
I can’t begin to explain how pleased I am that we picked Roy for our New born shoot. Roy was absolutely wonderful with our 10 day old baby boy and he took so much care with him. We never felt rushed during our session, Roy took time to make sure everything was perfect. Roy was so warm and friendly throughout the shoot it was like working with an old friend. The pictures were absolutely beautiful and we had so many to choose from- it was almost impossible to pick. We are so delighted with the pictures and how it captured such a special time in our lives and our little boy at such a young age. I would highly recommend Roy to anyone who is looking for a photographer. We are already looking forward to our 1 year old shoot with him. Thank you so much Roy! You rock 🙂

Melinda U. Troy, TN
Senior Portraits
7/22/2014
We came from a small town in TN to NYC for my son’s senior pictures/vacation. We were unfamiliar with the city of course and Roy was so professional and kind, assisting us with the transportation issues and being flexible with us with the anticipated rain. He was very personable. We felt as if we had a tour guide, photographer and friend all on one!

We loved his creativity and also asking our opinions as to capture what we wanted as well. He was very interactive with our 6 yr old, engaging him as much as possible in conversation and helping to include him in the special day. The pictures were online quicker than anticipated.

We couldn’t be happier with them all! Now the daunting tasks of choosing out of so many great ones, but as he said “that’s a good problem”! We wholeheartedly recommend Roy for your special occasion. He is a gem. I made sure to snap a picture of him photographing my son, so we will remember him connected to that special day.


Emy C. Brooklyn, NY
Newborn Client
6/12/2014
I am so happy we chose Photography By Roy to do our Newborn shots for our son. The photo shoot was on May 23rd, 2014.
Our son was 4 days old and I was a little nervous about how he would react but Roy is so experienced that he knew all of these little tricks to keep our baby calm and comfortable throughout the entire photo shoot. The pictures Roy took came out amazing.
Roy is such a kind and patient person who is willing to work with you and any ideas you may have. I highly recommend him! Thank you so much Roy for capturing such beautiful images of our son that we will cherish forever!

Tina P.
Canal Street, NY
1/2/2014
Roy was amazing to work with and he delivered images beyond our expectations.  We are already planning to make a photo session with Roy an annual family event.  He was so accommodating when my due date changed last minute and made sure he was able to come when our newborn would be at his photogenic best.  He was like a “baby whisperer” the way he worked with our son and was able to get the most precious poses out of him.  When the baby needed a break to eat, Roy took some candids of our older son that were exceptional as well.  He was professional and courteous and made our small New York apartment seem like a photography studio, making the most out of every possible space.  I highly recommend working with him and we are so glad we made the decision to take newborn photos!  Thank you Roy!

Carol W.
Duncan, OK
11/30/2013
Using “Photography by Roy” is definitely the best decision I could have made for my grandson’s senior portraits!  I contacted Roy months in advance for our appointment and was so pleased with his professionalism and his personal attention to detail.  He was so very polite and personable during the shoot and captured my grandson’s essence and personality perfectly.  Don’t hesitate……Photography by Roy will not disappoint!!

Aaron I.
Tarrytown, NY
4/1/2014
We used Roy for the first time this past week to photograph our newborn son and two excited older brothers.  He could not have been better and was so patient with the entire family and took many shots that we will treasure for a lifetime!  We just went through all the pics and could not be happier with the work that he did.  Roy is amazing and not only will we use him again, but we would highly recommend him!  His service is top notch and he posses a great eye for capturing all the great photos you hope to have and cherish for years to come.

Roza M,
Ellicott City, MD
5/6/2014
We had our engagement photos done by Roy in NYC and he was just Fantastic… we loved that he was so focused, patient, and creative! Every recommendation he made during the photo shoot session was right on ( we know because we just saw our pictures).
He paid attention to details which was so wonderful! he would let me know if I needed to fix my hair, dress, jewelry ( loved it- most photographer don’t do that).We absolutely love our photos… They are not your typical cheesy engagement photos, there are so many artistic photos in our gallery that we cant even pick our favorite. I am very happy with our decision ( and I am extremely picky) .  He is just simply great!Also, our photo shoot was supposed to be 2hrs but he went way over the 2hrs  mark just to make sure we had all the shots we wanted! It was a pleasure to work with him…

Xaulanda L.
Brooklyn, NY 4/29/2014
First off I would like to say that Roy is  an amazing photographer. (Although is review is a little late, he need to be complimented.) I recently had my daughter on Februaury 28, and didn’t even think of taking newborn pictures of my daughter until the very very last minute (literary). I was searching and searching and found Roy’s website. His pictures were gorgeous…. So I had to have him. I was able to reach out to him that Friday or Saturday in March and it was just a couple of day before my daughter would reach her 10th day of being let out into the world. Man, Roy gave me an appt for the following Monday morning in Brooklyn, I was delighted. He was very patient, professional, and you could easily tell he loved his work and has been in photography for quite awhile. He is awesome and I would totally book him again and again in the future. He is totally a diamond in the rough hands down. My fiancée absolutely loved how he was able to put everything together. What really took the cake was when he incorporated my two Yorkies. So amazing. Please look no further for a photographer. 🙂

Andrea L
New York, NY
3/26/2014
Roy’s photos are absolutely beautiful.  He is also hard working and has a wonderful demeanor with babies.  Our friends and family have been raving about his work. I highly recommend!

ELisa H.Jericho, NY.
3/14/2013
Roy took newborn pictures for both of our boys. When he took the first set of pictures he included our pet and did an incredible job! The pictures are framed around our house and are the only artwork we have that people constantly compliment. When we had our second son this past fall of course we called Roy again! We knew he was good with newborn babies and pets but had no idea how great he was with toddlers. The key to getting a good family shot was keeping our 3 year old happy and engaged, which Roy did and again we have amazing pictures I can not wait to frame!!!! I truly couldn’t be happier and plan to have him do annual family pictures.

Kerry B.Mastic, NY 5/17/2013
Roy is the best photographer out there! I had a newborn session on May 10 with my 8-day-old and 2 1/2 year-old. He was so gentle and soothing to my newborn and inclusive and friendly with my toddler, resulting in amazing photographs that will become artwork in my home. Roy’s passion for his work shines from his heart and you just know by his smile and enthusiasm when he caught something priceless. I am so happy I chose Roy to capture the best first moments in my new baby girl’s life. Within minutes he was my toddler’s friend (which is very hard to do) and before he left, she asked him to come back the next day for more pictures. I will definitely be using him again in the near future and recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer. He took over 200 photos and each one was amazing. Thanks Roy for sharing your talent and passion with the world!

Pamela C. Newark, OH 9/16/2012
My daughter really wanted her Senior High School pictures taken in New York City – we looked at every website we could find that offered senior picture packages. We both really liked the look of the photos on Roy’s website. They were in the city, trendy, the kids looked natural…he was so kind to work us into his schedule on our next visit to New York.The photo shoot was a WONDERFUL experience! He made my daughter feel like a super model. It was a joy and two hours that I will remember for the rest of my life.We just saw the picture proofs and they are FANTASTIC! I always knew my daughter was beautiful and Roy captured that beauty – by showing not only her physical beauty but also her beautiful personality shines through! I don’t know how we’ll pick which photos to keep as they are all keepers :)I would recommend Photography by Roy without hesitation. I am a very satisfied customer. My youngest daughter can’t wait for her senior photo session with Roy in a couple of years.Thank you again Roy!! We are fans!!! Pamela__

Monda M. Whitestone, NY 10/22/2012
Roy did a shoot for my 8 month old son and I have to say hands down he is the absolute BEST photographer to work with. He is so patient, understanding and accommodating He came to my house at 7am so he could work around my sons nap schedule and he was just amazing with him. He took the most beautiful pictures! He even managed to get my dog in some of the pics!If you are looking for family pictures or baby pictures or even pet pictures Roy is AS GOOD AS IT GETS!

Ishviene C. Manhattan, NY10/7/2012
I don’t normally take the time to write personal reviews, but I just had to following our recent experience with Roy. Roy did a shoot of our newborn son, he was only a week old when we did it, so I’m sure one could imagine how difficult it is to get a newborn to be cooperative during a photo shoot. But Roy knew exactly what he was doing. It was obvious from the moment he started that he understood how to handle babies. If it wasn’t for Roy’s tricks to keep our son asleep and calm, or for Roy’s patience, I don’t think we would have been able to get the amazing shots we did.

It’s not easy having a stranger come into your home and work with your baby, but Roy made us feel comfortable and relaxed from the get go and it was such a pleasant experience for us. He’s personable, professional, and extremely talented! We still can’t get over how well the photos came out. They were AMAZING and beyond what we were hoping for. Roy was also fantastic about sending us the shots immediately so we could get our birth announcement out.

If you are looking for a talented photographer who’s personable, easy to work with and will go above and beyond to get you your picture perfect moment, don’t think twice about hiring Roy. We will definitely be using him for future family photos!

Thank you for everything Roy! – Ishviene & Sorubh


Liana H. Southampton, NY10/1/2012
In April of 2009- My husband and I booked our first session, a maternity session, with Roy- we were so impressed with both him personally and his work, we quickly booked a newborn session to follow just weeks later. And now- nearly 3 1/2 yrs later, we have had a couple more wonderful blessings- and have now had 3…. yes 3… newborn sessions, as well as many other sessions, for a grand total of 9 (with family). He is WONDERFUL!!! He is caring, laid back, extremely patient, and immensely talented. The most recent session was with a newborn, and 18mth old, and a 3yo- he was still smiling throughout it, and captured the most AMAZING pictures too!!!

I love adding to my collection I refer to as his Greatest Hits! Pictures are the one chance you get to capture some of the most precious moments of your child’s life- blink and they are gone. But Roy captures those expressions, interactions, smiles, frowns- everything that makes your child yours and so infinitely special- perfectly!!! His pictures are one of my most prized possessions, after the kids, of course ;)!!!

If you are looking for an amazing, warm, caring professional photographer- Roy is the one to call!!! I think it’s time to book another session… 🙂


Trish D. Port Washington, NY9/26/2012
Over the past few years Roy has become more than just a photographer to our family, he is a friend. He is an amazing person and really “gets it” when photographing our children and dog. We have done at least 4 sessions with Roy and have loved every one and can’t get enough of his pictures. He has a great eye and captures our girls personalities every time. He is VERY patient when working with us and doesn’t make us feel like we are annoying when our kids are totally melting down. My girls absolutely adore Roy and feel more than comfortable around him. He makes the photo shoot feel like a game to them which makes it much easier on all of us.

I feel like we always get tons of great shots and it is very hard to choose just one favorite. I can never leave any pictures behind so I always buy the discs and I think its worth every penny!I would highly recommend Roy to take your family’s pictures whatever the occasion!Thanks for always being so great ROY!!!!


Kate K. Los Angeles, CA9/24/2012
I recently had my engagement photos taken by Roy and he was amazing! He was so easy to work with, made everyone feel super comfortable, and got great shots! He also got the pictures to us super fast, which was great since I was dying to see them! I wholeheartedly recommend him as a great person to work with, and a great artist who created wonderful memories for us! Thank you!

Kristen M. Brooklyn, NY7/25/2012
After doing a fair amount of online research on newborn photographers in the NYC area, I honed in on Photography by Roy for a number of reasons – his competitive at-home/personalized session package and print prices, his no fuss no cancellation fee and of course, the quality and creativity of his photos.

We booked Roy for our daughter’s June arrival and couldn’t have been happier with the session and the beautiful pictures and moments Roy captured for us! :-)Roy was very friendly and was not only a pro with his photography but he also came across as such a pro on the handling and care of newborns! As brand new parents, Roy immediately made us very comfortable and he knew exactly what was needed in order to make our daughter as happy as can be during the shoot.

He was also very patient and understanding when breaks were required for clean-up (babies are diaper-less!) and feedings. With some tricks such as a hair dryer in hand, Roy was quick to produce the beloved ‘shhhh’ white noise as well as warm up any surfaces before our daughter was posed. Brilliant.

We just received our gallery of beautiful photos and are so happy we made the decision to go with Roy. We highly recommend Roy and his talents when you are also looking to capture your precious moments….


Vanessa J. New York, NY8/25/2013
We did couples photos with Roy and I am so grateful that we chose him, The photos are stunning!!  And the reason we look so great is because Roy is an amazing photographer who captured some really candid moments between my husband and I.Roy was fantastic with the places he took us to, all downtown – East Village – where we live.  The photos look like they belong in a magazine!

Roy was professional, funny and great at making us both feel COMPLETELY relaxed while taking the photos (so important..) My husband was initially dreading the idea and after he said, “That was kind of fun!” We are planning on asking Roy to do another photo session in the fall.. I have already recommended 3 friends (1 for family photos and 2 for couples photos) because they were so stunned when I showed them JUST A FEW of the pictures Roy took.

If you are in the market for photos and want to capture the way you look at each other, or how happy you are, or how you feel about each other, I highly recommend Roy.  I haven’t stopped looking at the photos since he gave them to us 3 months ago!! We are so happy with the pictures we already have another shoot planned for the fall.AMAZING TALENT. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. WITHOUT RESERVATION.


Sojourner W. Brooklyn, NY8/2/2013
We are so happy with our photo shoot. Roy was so great at guiding us into natural poses that reflected our personalities. The shoot was so much fun and our photos are amazing. Roy worked so well with our one year old. He took some astonishing photos of our son and he didn’t cry once. We are definitely going to use him again!

Jennifer F. Long Beach, NY 6/22/2013 I first want to apologize that this review is so late.  Roy photographed my newborn back in April and it has been a rough couple of months since then.Roy was absolutely amazing from beginning to end.  My little one was born a week early which was no problem, Roy penciled a date in for us.  We had a little mishap at home and had to reschedule for the following week, again he was so patient and understanding and we set a date.  It was a little chaotic here that day with the rain and my dog going crazy and the baby was having a rough day.
Roy was SOOO patient with us!  He is a very personable and professional.  The pictures came out amazing (I wish I had more time to purchase some of the props I wanted to use) Im hoping we have the time to book Roy for a first birthday shoot!!

Giulietta C
Westchester NY
10/15/2013
Roy is AMAZING!!! Last week my family and I had the pleasure of working with him for a second newborn shoot. He was wonderful the first time around, 3 years ago, so i knew as soon as I found out I was pregnant, that he would be doing our newborn shoot once again!
Roy simply has a way with babies, and toddlers too (we have a 5 and 3 year old and he kept them engaged the entire time). He is so patient, flexible, creative, and professional. I haven’t seen the pictures yet but I know they will be nothing short of beautiful!I strongly recommend Roy for anyone who is looking for professional photos, especially newborn shoots! He is wonderful!!!!

Maggie R.
Engagement Session
NYC
9/22/2013
Roy was the absolute best! My husband and I used him for our engagement photos and were absolutely thrilled– we had many pictures made into fantastic prints that will last a lifetime. Roy was great to work with and managed to capture fantastic shots of two normally VERY unphotogenic people. He also scheduled a great photo shoot with locations that were perfect NYC backdsrops– we weren’t sure exactly where to begin and he planned a seamless day.

Roy also went above and beyond to be acommodating of schedules and additional requests after the fact. We plan on doing a family portait shoot with him next! DEFINITELY use Roy if you’re considering professional photos.


Katia A.
Children Session
Long Island, NY
3/22/2014
Roy deserves 10+ starts! He is practically family to us! We started way back when our only “child” was a furry one! We then graduated to a maternity session, newborn, first year, newborn and so on! Our last session has been the best one yet!

Roy manages to capture the essence of my kids, the sparkle in their eyes and I feel so luck to have such special moments to hold on to and cherish for years to come! Roy is extremely talented, very professional, kind, patient and funny! He has a way to making my kids do things they would NEVER do for me! my only fear of bragging about Roy so much is that he will get so busy he may not have time to squeeze us in!!! Wink wink!

We love you Roy and we are thrilled to see you succeed! We wish you always the best and look forward to our next session!!


Jordana A
Brooklyn Baby session
12/29/2013
Wow!!! What unbelievable photos we have of us and our 7 month old son! This is really a lifetime of beautiful memories we now have! Roy was so professional, showed up on time, was amazing with our son and just such a joy to work with. He set up a studio in our tiny apartment and nearly every single photo was perfect. We have such a hard time choosing the prints we want! We are so lucky we chose him to do these photos! Many many thanks, Roy!!

Edit: We have now moved into a new home, and the photos that Roy took are on our walls, and I have to say, with out a shadow of a doubt, this was the best money we have ever spent!!! These photos are truly priceless, and I am so grateful I have them now!! Babies grow so quickly, the time is going by in a flash, and I can’t believe how lucky we are to have those precious times captured so beautifully!!
Thank you thank you!!!!!!


Tanzina
Queens
12/23/2014
Newborn session
 We did a newborn photo session with Roy back in October when our
little one was just about three weeks old. He is an amazing
photographer and was truly wonderful to work with. He was super
patient and an absolute pleasure. We were amazed by how well he
handled our newborn, keeping her calm, comfortable and happy
throughout the entire session. My husband and I are so happy with the
beautiful moments Roy captured of our daughter. We are really indebted
to Roy for preserving these wonderful memories for us. He is a very
talented professional. We highly recommend him!

Robyn S
Newborn Photography
Queens, NY
1/9/2016
Roy is obviously a very talented photographer, as you can see on the website. What you don’t see is how gentle he is with the newborns and how attentive and kind he is to a new mother who is recovering from her delivery. My family and I felt very relaxed and comfortable with Roy and his professionalism and talent is very much appreciated. He’s the best of the best!
Sarah G
Hampton Beach Session
Westhampton Beach
9/2/2014
Roy came highly recommended to us by a dear friend but we still had no
idea how good he was until we met him. Not only did he make
arrangements at the last minute to shoot us on the beach, he spent his
time shooting us until he got the “exact” light that he was looking
for. He was WONDERFUL with our son (15 months) and took shots that we
would have never thought of. We just received our gallery and WOW!
every picture is better than the next. He is extremely talented,
professional, warm, kind and we are SO excited to have found a
lifelong friend and photographer. I would HIGHLY recommend him and I
promise you will not be disappointed!

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Photography by Roy
Author Rating
51star1star1star1star1star
H A M P T O N S
Q u i c k   L i n k s